August Wrap Up

As always, I cannot believe how fast this summer flew by.

But! Autumn – objectively the best season, come on – is about to arrive. Think cold, partly cloudy days and strong winds and fiery leaves and hot mugs of coffee. Think sweaters and boots and long walks with good friends. Think chilly evenings curled up with a blanket and a good book. In Scotland, think purple mountains’ majesty as the heather blooms briefly, signalling the end of summer. I can’t wait!

Like last month, The Lord of the Rings kept me busy through August, and I’m loving it! I also fit in a quick book about gardening that I hope will prove useful for the garden of my new flat in Edinburgh and Hings, a collection of short stories by Chris McQueer that has been described as, ““Clever, funny, irreverent…[and] Scottish as f#!k.” All in all, a good month!

I started…

  • The Two Towers by J.R.R. Tolkien
  • Organic Gardening For Beginners by M. Christensen
  • Hings by Chris McQueer
  • The Return of the King by J.R.R. Tolkien

 I finished…

  • Organic Gardening For Beginners by M. Christensen (3/5)
  • The Two Towers by J.R.R. Tolkien (4/5)
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde (2/5)
  • Hings by Chris McQueer (3/5)

I’m still working my way through…

  • A Little History of Philosophy by Nigel Warburton
  • Economics: The User’s Guide by Ha-Joon Chang
  • The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov
  • Dubliners by James Joyce

I wrote…


What’s your favourite thing you read this month? Your favourite thing you wrote? Let me know and I’ll go check it out! 

3 thoughts on “August Wrap Up”

  1. Sounds like you’ve had a productive month! I’m excited about the return of Autumn, but (being in California) I still have another month until I can really consider it close enough to get excited about. Our summer tends to stretch on, and on, and on. Still, I’m looking forward to boots and sweater season!

    Like

Leave a Reply

