July Wrap Up

I’m a bit disappointed in myself for only writing two real blog posts this month…although, in my defence, I was pretty busy slogging my way through The Fellowship of the Ring. And it was a slog, but one I really enjoyed! More on that here.

Other cool things I did this month:

1) Devoted more time to getting to know my fellow book bloggers here and on Twitter and Tumblr. I’m working on launching a project called Sublurbia to highlight lesser-known novels with Camille @ thevajunglebook and Emma @ howlsmovinglibrary.

2) Tried audiobooks for the first time since I was a kid. I used the Audible free trial to listen to The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo written and read by Amy Schumer, and now I’m listening to a free podcast of The Picture of Dorian Gray from LoyalBooks.com. I definitely prefer reading to listening, but audiobooks are nice for my commute!

Do any of you listen to audiobooks regularly? How do you feel they compare to reading? Let me know in the comments!

In the end, this month:

I started…

 I finished…

I’m still working my way through…

  • Death Note: Black Edition, Volumen I by Tsugumi Ohba (script), Takeshi Obata (drawings), Marc Bernabé (translation into Spanish)
  • Economics: The User’s Guide by Ha-Joon Chang
  • The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov
  • Dubliners by James Joyce

I wrote…


What’s your favourite thing you read this month? Your favourite thing you wrote? Let me know and I’ll go check it out! 

6 thoughts on “July Wrap Up”

  1. I love the Death Note anime, how is it in written form? I should maybe check that out, too. And I want to read Dubliners… must get to that soon.

    I love audio books for times when paper books are less convenient. The daily commute is a good example, as are periods of busy work at the office or times when I can’t decide if I want to read or to knit. (With audio books I can read and knit at the same time! Yay!) But yes, I too prefer paper books in general.

    Like

    1. I haven’t gotten too far into Death Note yet, but it seems cool! I’ve never read manga, and I’m trying to read it in Spanish – a second language I’m pretty good at but not completely fluent in. It’s a bit of a challenge because when I don’t recognize a word, I’m not sure if it’s because it’s in Spanish or because it’s in Japanese or a fictional term. I think if I was reading it in English I’d be able to appreciate it more, so I might try to do that instead.

      Audiobooks seem perfect for knitting, now that you say that! I often try to watch tv while I knit, but I make mistakes because I’m not looking at my work. Reading and knitting at the same time sounds excellent, though.

      Do you find you listen to different books than ones you read on paper?

      Like

      1. Wow, that’s ambitious! I can’t imagine reading manga in anything other than a fluent language, for just the reasons you mentioned. Also, the anime I’ve seen can be hard enough to understand even when I am fluent in the language…

        I knit while watching TV also, but you’re completely right: for knitting that requires more looking at the work, audio books are easier.

        I listen to some of the same genre books as I read on paper. However, I am also more likely to enjoy non-fiction audio books than non-fiction paper books. I think it’s because in audio form the non-fiction books are more like college lectures.

        Like

        1. That’s interesting! I’m sort of the opposite. I pick up information best in writing; So while I agree that nonfiction audiobooks are like college lectures, like in lectures, I feel compelled to take notes so I actually remember what’s being said! Which doesn’t leave my hands free for knitting 🙂

          Have you listened to any particularly good audio books lately? I’m almost done with Dorian Gray, so I’ll be in the market for another soon.

          Like

          1. Well, I don’t always retain what I listen to in audiobooks unless I write down notes, but I’m more likely to finish the non-fiction book if I’m listening to it than reading it for myself… 😉

            I’m loving the “Spells, Swords, & Stealth” series by Drew Hayes. The first book is “NPCs” and it’s essentially a D&D-style game from the inside. It starts off with one answer to the question “what do NPCs do after the players have killed their own characters?” It’s really amusing, but it does require at least a degree of interest in fantasy gaming.

            I also really enjoyed listening to Neil Gaiman read his “Norse Mythology” – that’s probably the one that’s surprised me the most so far this year. I thought I’d like it (otherwise I wouldn’t have bought it) but I enjoyed it more than I expected to.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I’ve been meaning to read Norse Mythology anyway, so that’s a very appealing recommendation – thank you! NPCs sounds interesting too, but I don’t know that much about fantasy gaming. Maybe someday though!

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

