April Wrap Up

It’s time to recap my first month here at The Hungry Little Bookworm!

IMG_3921

I started this blog on April 4, and I’m happy with its progress so far. When my summer job starts in June, I plan on investing some money in sprucing up the theme and other bits and bobs, but so far so good.

I’m excited to review my first Advance Copy — All the Good Things by Clare Fisher courtesy of Penguin Books — next month. Aside from that, my main goal for May is to stop starting new books and to finish some instead! Six books is several too many for my Currently Reading list as far as I’m concerned. Anyway, this month…

I started…

I finished…

I’m still working my way through…

  • A Supposedly Fun Thing I’ll Never Do Again by David Foster Wallace
  • Economics: The User’s Guide by Ha-Joon Chang
  • The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov
  • Dubliners by James Joyce

I wrote…


*I don’t feel comfortable rating this one. I had to read it for class, and, in short, it’s very problematic. Major content warnings for racism and rape. It was written and published in the 1600s by the first openly female professional novelist and playwright in England, so it is in some ways an important text. And I suppose Behn’s approach to race was actually pretty radical and progressive compared to many of her contemporaries . Still, it was painful to read. If you’re interested in Behn (she was a spy, a libertine, and a fascinating woman) I would highly recommend looking to other works like The Rover or some of her poetry instead.

What’s your favourite thing you read this month? Your favourite thing you wrote? Let me know and I’ll go check it out! 

1 thought on “April Wrap Up”

Leave a Reply

